DNF…it’s the worst feeling


So last weekend was the Naked Foot 5K here in Minnesota and I was so psyched for it!  My first actual minimal shoe race…

But alas…it was not meant to be.  I had tied my car key to my shoe…and lost it in the first 50 yards or so of the race; but thankfully I noticed it right away and ended up hunting for my key rather than running. LUCKY for me someone turned it in…rather than stealing my car since I have that cool key that has a keyless entry and chirps to alert the owner to its location.  Talk about a stressful 45 minutes!

Sadly though…I now have 2 DNFs on my race record…I was supposed to Du this morning…but this summer has been so ridiculously humid and hot that I couldn’t train properly, and suffered ITBS most of the summer and just couldn’t get my act together.  So last night I made the decision not to Du today.  I am super bummed about it because 1.) it was a hundred bucks to enter, plus all of the other cash invested in the bike, and such.   And 2.) it looked like crazy fun. But it’s not like this is the one and only time that I can Du.  I just really wanted the bling 😦  Next year folks, next year.

This morning was one of those mornings where I just could not get motivated…I stared impatiently at the coffee pot…

And rather than make anything halfway decent for breakfast, I cheated and toasted some GF Buckwheat wildberry waffles

Quick and easy…but they are so good!  Would have been better with some fresh berries as well…but at the end of the week those are loooong gone.  And these waffles smell SO GOOD!  Yumm.

Speaking of yumm…for breakfast on Saturday I made a cheesy potato bake

1 package hash browns

1/4  onion, finely chopped (I used red for the flavor and for the color)

1/2 zucchini, grated

2 1/4 cups shredded cheese

3/4 cup sour cream

1/4 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 2 quart glass baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.  In large bowl combine all ingredients (but leave the 1/4 cup shredded cheese out) making sure that the scour cream coats all of the potato, onion and zucchini mixture.  Press into the baking pan, and top with the 1/4 cup of cheese.  I also added a bit of salt and pepper to the top, along with some chives for a bit of extra flavor.  Bake for 45 minutes, or until potatoes are tender.

Pretty basic, but you could add other things to make it a bit more hearty, like tomatoes, or even eggs to get some protein in there.

So tomorrow I have a vacation day…and let me tell you- I am very excited about it.  Why you ask?  Well…

We get the keys to our NEW APARTMENT!!  WOOT!  I cannot wait.  And also- I will be pre-cooking all of our meals, so that I can freeze them and then we I don’t have to cook this week,  AND pack,  AND load the cars at night after work.  And I will also be sewing a storm k@tastrophy designs, and you can read about the fun new happenings here.  

What are you excited about this week?  Anything fun and exciting happening for you?

Leave a Reply

