30 day shred day 1…or I think I might die


After hearing that some of my friends had great results with Jillian Michaels’ 30 day Shred DVD, I decided that I should give it a try.  To be honest, I had found the level one on Demand through Comcast a while back; and didn’t even make it 10 minutes and had to quit.  Sad.

But I am tired of being fat, and really uncomfortable in my body.  Unfortunately training for marathons is not giving me any visible results.  That 20 minutes sucked.  I mean it really sucked.  I could hardly breathe, my arms and legs were screaming at me…in fact- I am sitting here typing this and still shaking. 

Before photo and stats:

I CANNOT believe that I am posting these photos for the whole world to see…but I want to document this journey to my 110 pound former self, so that it may inspire some of you to start the same journey.

 

Measurements:

Right arm: 13″
Left arm: 13″
Bust: 40″
Chest ( under the bust): 34.5″
Waist: 34″
Hips: 40″
Right thigh: 25.5″
Left thigh: 24.5″
Right calf: 15″
left calf: 15″
weight: 154.4

Needless to say- I have a lot of work to do.  When I was 23 I weighed 110-115 on average.  I wore a size 4, and was still a 32 D.  My hope goal is to have lost 30 pounds by my 30th birthday.  Which averages out to about 3-4 pounds a week until the end of December.  Which is very, very, scary.  yet, I think believe that I can do this.  I want to do this.  Because when I look at those pictures, I am really sad that I let myself get this way. 

 I can make excuses.  I can blame it on the Endometriosis tanking my metabolism.  I can blame the 6 weeks of virtual bed-rest after  having a softball sized endometriomia removed from my body, that left me with a narly 9″ scar from hip to hip.  I could say it was all the meds I had to take to put my body into an early menopause…it’s true that all those things played a part in this.  But ultimately the blame is all mine.  I ate too much, too often, and did not exercise.   When I met The Amazing Jeff, I was a little “curvy” at 135.  I was conscious that I had a little extra meat on my bones; but confident because I knew that he thought I was beautiful, and sexy even.  But gone is that confidence.  I stare into my closet wondering what to wear if we have some place to go.  I now dread that.  And that has got to change.  Starting today.

I have decided only to step on the scale once per week, so next Tuesday I will measure and weigh in again.  Hopefully I will see some results!!

Are you on a weight-loss journey?  How did you start?  What inspired you?  What has kept you motivated?

6 thoughts on “30 day shred day 1…or I think I might die”

  1. Go Krysty!! I have also done the 30 day shred (not for 30 consecutive days) and found it exhausting, but so worth while. I think tonight I might just go home and start it up again 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration, you can do it!!

  2. I have also had experience with losing large amounts of weight (215lbs down to 150lbs…and back up to 170lbs) and the 30 day Shred (until a knee injury forbid me from doing another squat or lunge in my lifetime) and know the pain the entire process can be. That said, some lessons learned that I hope will help:
    – You WILL be sore every day for the first week
    – STRETCH!!
    – Even if you’re sore, you have to do the next day
    – You have to complete the 30 minutes of activity even if that requires pausing the DVD for 5 min to catch your breath and get water. Make it a goal to NOT pause the DVD by the end of the week (little victories!!)
    – Weight may not come off for up to 6 weeks but your body is changing!
    – You MUST fuel your workout. If you don’t eat, you won’t lose a damn thing.

    Wishing you all the best! I know you have it in you 🙂

    1. Thanks Carrie!! I would have NEVER in a million years guessed that you ever strugled with weight issues! I remember being so jealous of you in High School- but I forget that was more than 10 years ago sometimes! I have to tell you- seeing your endurance events on Facebook has inspired me to become an athlete! Thanks so much for the vote of confidence!! It means a lot!

      1. I have battled my weight demons since just after high school and because of what I did to my body to lose the weight at various points, I continue to struggle with abnormal metabolism and fat storage. That is why I stress SO heavily that you have to continue eating and enjoying your activities. I am so flattered to hear that I had any part in inspiring you on your journey! Keep at it. I just entered a fitness challenge through the end of the year that requires us to sponsor a charity or cause and Girls on the Run will be the benefactor of my success or failure. I chose them because of YOUR posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

