Why I love Whole Foods


 

This afternoon I hit up Whole Foods, it is brand new as of a month or so ago.  It is so beautiful.

Everything is so perfectly organized!  All over the store there are employees straightening, and restocking.  I love it when a store FACES…(the straightening of shelves, bringing boxes, cans, or other merchandise to the front of the shelves for easier access) so that I don’t have to climb the shelves for what I need.  It happens at Target all the time, Cub too and the employees just stand around and watch.  But not at Whole Foods!!

Perfectly aligned, perfectly presentable.  Everywhere I looked there was such beautiful colors.  Even the self-serve deli section!!

Now, I really thought that WF was much more expensive…oh how wrong I was!  I spent just over $62 and got all of this:

Red Kale
Lacinato Kale
Red cabbage
Carrots ( I really wanted carrots of other colors too!!)
Strwberries
Rapsberries
2 tins of Republic of Tea ($10.99 each)
2 meal bars
32 bean and 8 veggie dried soup
Multi-grain Quinoa
2 Naked juices (2 servs per bottle= 4 servs)
3 packets of GREENsuperfood drink mixes to try (stay tuned for a review later next week)

That is more than I normally spend, but I did get two tins of amazing tea, by far the most expensive items.  I don’t normally buy that kind of stuff, but I have set some goals for myself for the next few months, and I want to set myself up to succeed, not fail.  The Amazing Jeff has agreed to give me a reward once I reach my first goal of a 10 pound weight loss, and I want it this month!!

Step one of my goals is to start eating right- all the time.  Not some of the time, not most of the time…but ALL the time.  That is not to say that I will be depriving myself, or sacrificing all of my cravings.  I can have desert- say a chocolate pudding cup and a little ready whip- boom about 120 calories, not 800 calories of the Tiger cake that Byerly’s makes that is to-die-for.  And I love, love, LOVE me some mashed potatoes.  But I can bake a potato, and add a little butter, and plain greek yogurt to make it healthier and not just eat a giant bowl of mashed potatoes…did I mention that they would be instant and covered in butter, top-the-tater sour cream and shredded cheese?  Yeah I figured that little dinner of mine was about 800-900 calories.  Ewww.  I can also sub out that white, super starchy, potato for a Sweeeet potato!  I am hoping that subing out small things will lead to big changes!!

I had also tried the juicing thing earlier this week as I mentioned in my video blog.  My overall thoughts are that it is very time consuming, since I only have a blender so there is a lot of squeezing of the pulp by hand involved…and the yield is just not making the 45 minutes it takes to chop, blend, strain and clean up in order to make this juice.  So perhaps I will stick to smoothies.  I love them, and it only takes about 15 minutes and I have tons of fresh foods in my hand ready to consume.  Plus- I get all of that fiber in my diet and that will help…ahem, move things along.  🙂

So I noticed the other day that there are about 250 of you following this blog!!  I invite you to take a moment and say hello!  I hope you are all having a fab 2012 so far.  How are those resolutions going?

3 thoughts on “Why I love Whole Foods”

  1. I tried making a green smoothie with a food processor, and it was also very time consuming, with all the peeling and chopping. It was very pulpy. I guess I prefer to eat my greens! It’s more of a “whole food” way to go anyway. Is it really natural to “drink” an entire head of romaine and some handfuls of spinach? I haven’t decided yet. What do you think?

    1. Hi Marianne!! Yeah…still undecided here too. But having that blast of nutrients right away in the morning helps your body to continue the cleansing process a little longer. 🙂 Try adding more liquid- like OJ, or water too. I do like the idea of mixing the greens with other veggies. I usually do: Kale (1 cup) Spinach (1 cup), 1 whole green pear, unpeeled, 1 whole granny smith apple, unpeeled and OJ or water. If you want to add other veggies like carrots- 2-3 should do the trick, and about half a cucumber, you could add some kiwi too if the veggie taste is just too much. The batch I do usually makes enough for me to have 2-3 servings throughout the day.

      1. Thanks for the tips! Speaking of greens, I may do a post on wheatgrass shots in the future. I just have to find out where to get them in Texas first!

Leave a Reply

