8 weeks out, 11 pounds down, and a light bulb moment


So 8 weeks after my “I’m-ready-to-change-my-life” moment, I am down almost 12 pounds.  Squeeeeeeeeeeeee!

I have learned so much about me, my eating habits, and about nutrition.  I have a new-found sense of confidence that I have, well…I am not sure that I have ever had this feeling before.  It is more than accomplishment, and pride…it is pure success!  So I thought I’d share a few of my secrets to how I kick-started a dead metabolism:

1. Green tea is your friend.  I have a cup every morning with breakfast.  I was hard-core coffee, but quit cold turkey back in January and have not had a sip since!  And I also drink a detox tea every night before bed.  I have to get up to go to the loo at least once, usually twice at night though.

2. Drink lots of water.  Then drink lots more.  I have a water bottle with me at all times.  I am drinking upwards of 3750 ml of water everyday, and I 100% sure I should be drinking more.

3. Invest in a HRM (Heart Rate Monitor).  Remember when I got my HRM back in January?  Yeah well, it was kind of a POS and it died last week.  So I had to get another one.  Luckily I was able to exchange it and not spend another $50 for a new one.

So far this one is good.  It comes with the chest strap, which I am not a huge fan of, but the good news is that  it is far more accurate.  The bad news is that I just found out that the other was not even in the same zip code as accurate; because my 65 minute elliptical session yesterday only logged half of the calorie burn with the same effort and intensity as I normally do.  Boo.

4. You must, you must, you must measure everything if you want to decrease the size of your butt.  Get several sets of measuring spoons, cups, or a scale and measure it before you devour it.  I highly recommend joining a calorie counting site like My Fitness Pal.  It is wonderful, and I feel deserves most of the credit for my success thus far.  Or at the very least get a calorie counting book, and write it down.  I spent the first two weeks writing everything down, but not counting the calories and I was appalled at how much over my 1200 calorie intake I was eating once I went back and added it up.  It was gross and it made me very sad.  Weight is lost in the kitchen, not in the gym.  Nutrition is so, so, so, so important.  But more about that later.

5. Having a support system is going to make or break this.  overtime I tried to lose weight, albeit half-assed, I failed to request the support of my boyfriend The Amazing Jeff.  His metabolism is 180 degrees different from mine.  I do all the cooking, and I gave into his requests for meals that I knew were not the best for me, and ate them anyway.  This time around I was much more firm.  I told him that there were going to be changes in the food we ate, and he was either going to eat them or make his own dinner.  He has yet to make his own dinner.  He does let me know if there was something that he would prefer not to have again, or if there is a way to make a base dish and add our own additions to it.  And that is a compromise that I am more than happy to accommodate.  He is so supportive, and tells me all the time how proud of me he is.  My addiction to working out is even starting to rub off on him a bit, as he is trying to be more active on the weekends rather than sitting in front of the boob tube.  Get your family involved.  obesity is an epidemic, and it is one that we can cure!

6. You don’t need a gym to lose weight!  There are lots of ways to lose weight without spending money every month on a gym membership.  And the YMCA does give scholarships to families with financial need…check into it.  My gym is $20 per month, but they also have a membership that is $10 per month.  TEN BUCKS!  I love Planet Fitness.  I look forward to that 2 hours 3 days a week like I never thought I would.  But if you just can’t do that much per month…get your sneakers on, strap on that HRM and go for a walk.  Start by walking for 30 minutes 3 times a day.  Once you feel like that is easy, and you are ready for a challenge add in a little jogging.  Run around the block, do squats, or get a DVD like 30 Day Shred by Jillian Michaels, or the 6 Week 6-pack…or Turbo Jam.  Whatever you are interested in…there is a DVD for that.  Set up a corner in your living room, or bedroom with some free weights and stability ball.  You can set up a home gym for less than $50 and get a great workout.

7. Get a little inspiration.  Remember my friend Abby and her guest blog post?  Well, her journey has been an inspiration to me for years.  She is a real person, not a Victoria’s Secret Model, although she seriously could be.  Her results are most definitely in the realm of possibility for me.  Find someone who you know that has done this journey, and ask them a few questions, pick their brain and get some good tips.  I am sure that these people, much like my friend Abby would be more than happy to share their journey with you in an effort to get you started.

8. Set goals!  And not like “I want to lose weight”.  Set goals that are specific, and attainable.  I set milestones for myself here and the rewards I will give to myself once reached.  I already know that I will need to push out the end date because there is no way that I will be down 50 pounds in July.  I would do so much harm to my body.  But at the rate I am going, I could be down 50 pounds in October.  That is not too bad, and I may find that I cannot get to 100 pounds, or that 100 pounds is not a good look for me.  I have a feeling that I might be totally satisfied with 125.  So I got to my first milestone of 10 pounds down, and got my treat…and it is awesome.  So the next goal is to lose another 15, and I am almost 2 pounds into that goal.  I found that breaking the weight down into a couple of phases, rather than “I have to lose 50 pounds?! OMFG!!  What am I going to do?!?!”, was much better.  Those small goals are easier to handle when I feel overwhelmed, or started to get bored.

9. Speaking of getting bored.  Change up the routine, and the eating once in a while.  Not only will your body go “Huh?  What is this now?” and work a little harder to deal with that heavier weight, or longer run…it will be able to process that little cheat food right away and get it gone because your body knows that it shouldn’t hang around.  3 weeks ago I added circuit training to my routine, and cut back on the cardio a bit.  My body rebelled by not losing any weight for 2 weeks, but I didn’t quit and wouldn’t you know it…I broke through that 10 pound wall this week.  So I kicked up the intensity of the circuit training and added another set, and Abs.  Just because my body is angry about the extra sets, and the scale isn’t budging…that doesn’t mean I am giving up.  I will just work harder.

10. Lastly, have fun and celebrate the small victories!  Say you went out for a walk and at 30 minutes, you thought, “Hey, I feel like I could do another 30”..do it and bask in that accomplishment.  Try not to get discouraged when that scale doesn’t move for a week or 3 even.  You are able to do this, and if you stick with it and don’t give up…you will be able to say that you did it, rather than you want to do it.

 

So nutrition.  It came to me about a month or so ago.  This light bulb moment.  I was surfing through the forums on MFP, and saw a post from a woman who was looking for help losing weight.  After reading all of the replies,many of them bad advice, I joined in and was able to look at her food diary and gave her some advise.  I am not a nutritionist, but I know enough to give suggestions.  And after a few back and forth emails is hit me. WAM!  This is it.  That is what I want to do all the time.  I want to help people learn about nutrition, and how to eat to lose weight.  I even have a school picked out.  But, the only thing standing in the way is the tuition money.  It is a bargain at about five grand.  So I am hoping that the K@tastrophy Designs business takes off soon and can help get me to school.  If you are not familiar with my business, I make and sell these

‘Trophy Bands.  No slip headbands in a variety of widths.  They stay put all day, and keep you looking stylish all day.  Starting at $10, they are very affordably priced.  Much more so than Sweaty Bands at $15 a pop.  I do take custom orders as well!  Just fill out the contact me form and we can get your order rolling!

Do you have any tips for weight loss that you want to share?

Leave a Reply

