The Running-moon


So remember last week when I had 2 awesome runs?  One with new shoes, and my first 4 miler

Well today was not quite as awesome.  It was just a tough run.  My left calf/shin have been bothering me for a few days, and I just thought I could run through it.  Clearly I was wrong.  I had planned 4 miles, but went just under 3.5 due to the leg issues.  But it wasn’t just the leg issues that made the run sucky.  There is a pretty strong breeze today and I had headwind both directions!  I felt like it was going to blow the contacts right outta my eyes!  then my ipod died and I was forced to listen to my own huffing and puffing.  Not fun.  I kept having to stop and stretch, and the I would start out again limping…or just walk and that sucked.  I did, however, take a few seconds off my pace!  Silver lining right?

So it got me thinking…is my honeymoon with running over?  Will all my runs suck like this now?  Hell no!!

One bad run will not stop me from being better.  It won’t keep me from being the best runner I can be.  Self-doubt is a bad thing.  And I have spent too many years doubting my abilities, my skills and my…well…awesomeness.  This will not keep me from going out again on Thursday…if anything it makes me more determined to make Thursday’s run better.  I see it as a challenge to best myself.

When I got home I immediately stripped off my sweaty running clothes and put on that tee-shirt to remind myself that I cannot be stopped.  Oh, and these babies:

I love these compression socks.  I need more.  One pair is not enough!!

How do you get past a bad run?  What do you tell that little voice that says “you can’t”?

2 thoughts on “The Running-moon”

    1. Oh my gosh me too! I think my response was “F&$k!!”. It was just the icing on the cake of a bad run. But yes, the shirt…it’s awesome! I also have the “Nice Try” from Nike too! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

