A little hitch in my giddy up…


You know how I had this great plan for eating while in Texas?

Yeah…not so much.  Taking care of two kids…eatingwhat and when I can it’s hard to squeeze in exercise too.  Not to mention the weather…

Today May 10

Scattered T-Storms78°F /65°F

Scattered T-Storms

Chance of rain: 60%

Fri May 11

T-Storms81°/66°

T-Storms

Chance of rain: 80% 

Sat May 12

Isolated T-Storms79°/64°

Isolated T-Storms

Chance of rain: 30%

Kinda makes it hard to get out and run!  Does Texas not know that I have a 5k to run next weekend?  Boo.  Hopefully Sunday will be nicer and I will be able to get out and run for a bit.  Then it will be time to get back into the car on Monday and head home.  I am also hoping that will give me enough time to get a few more miles in next week before the race.

I realized this week that both of my 5ks this summer are right after a vacation!  Way to go Krysty…way to go.  I should use it as a challenge, but given the motivation that I have had this week, that is doubtful.  So I decided that I will need to step up my routine for the next few months to get ready for vacation.  Thus the “Experiments” are born.  This summer I will be conducting a series of “experiments” with new types of exercise and diet.

So far I’ve planned:

1. Crossfit: CrossFit, Inc. is a fitness company[1] founded by Greg Glassman in 2000. As of 2012, there are approximately 3400 CrossFit-affiliated gyms worldwide,[2] most of them in the United States. Some followers practice CrossFit’s exercise program on their own rather than at an affiliated gym, completing workouts which are posted daily on the company’s website.

Source

2. Yoga: Yoga (Sanskrit, Pāli: योग, yoga) is the Hindu practice of physical, mental, and spiritual discipline, originating in ancient India.[1][2] The goal of yoga, or of the person practicing yoga, is the attainment of a state of perfect spiritual insight and tranquility while meditating on the Hindu concept of divinity or Brahman.[3] The word is associated with meditative practices in Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism.[4][5][6]

Source

3. Paleo: The paleolithic diet (abbreviated paleo diet or paleodiet), also popularly referred to as the caveman diet, Stone Age diet and hunter-gatherer diet, is a modern nutritional plan based on the presumed ancient diet of wild plants and animals that various hominid species habitually consumed during the Paleolithic era

Source

On top of these new adventures I will also be training for the Nike Women’s Marathon on October 14th 2012.  Our season kicks off next week and I am super excited for it!  I love my Team, and I have met some of the most amazing people through Team.  If cancer has impacted your life in any way, please consider donating to my fundraising page.

The plan is to start with the Crossfit, and paleo diet.  Most crossfit programs encourage the paleo diet and what better what to do those than at the same time with the support of a team that does it all the time!  The box I have in mind has one of the most affordable ways to do this program…a punch card!  Genius.  I am really very excited to try it out and report back!

On a side note…

Is anyone else glad that tomorrow is Friday?!

 
Leave a Reply

