Something bigger


This Saturday I have my first race in quite sometime, so naturally I am a bit nervous.  But…I know that it will be great!  I am running with my good friend Kristine.  Today is actually the 13th anniversary of her bone marrow transplant!!  We are running a 5k for the National Marrow Donor Registry, Be The Match.

Michelle, Kristine’s sister & marrow donor (left), and Kristine (left) one day after her transplant.

My friend Kristine is also a recruiter for Be The Match, and a Team in Training coach.  She is one of the most amazing women that I know.  Hearing her story, and all that she has gone through made me stick with TNT even when my body didn’t want to continue.

So to get ready, I need to make sure that I have everything I need to be successful.

Race outfit…check…and it’s super cute too!

fuel…check.  I know what works and what doesn’t

Tunes…check.  I have a few songs that make me push myself harder, and go faster

Bib…I gotta pick that up still!

Overall, I know that I am ready to run my fasted ever.  I got a PR yesterday…a 9:40 mile.  HOLY CRAP!  That is the fastest that I have ever run in my entire life.  That tells me that I can so do this!  I plan to get in one more mile tomorrow, and then before the race I will be meeting up with my marathon team for the first training of the season…so by the time I head over to the start line, I will be plenty warmed up and ready to run!

Are you racing this weekend?  What do you do to get ready for a race?

Leave a Reply

