30 Day Clean Eating challenge: Day 2 Shopping list & meal plans


Meal planning in the clean eating lifestyle is pretty crucial.  Especially if you are just starting out in it.  The planning and prep can get overwhelming.  But if you are at all serious about starting this lifestyle, you should know that it will take work, and the first step is committing to it!

And now for some tips to creating a meal plan for yourself!

meal tips

Creating a meal plan can be a simple a taking pen to paper and writing what you are going to eat everyday so that you are not standing in front of an open fridge for 10 minutes at a loss.  Or you can get really serious and create a plan electronically in word, excel or however else works for you.  It can be simple, or include caloric and macronutrient (fat, carbs, protein) information if that is part of your program.

Whatever method you choose, make sure it is something that you can maintain.  If you are just starting out in the meal planning arena…start with just writing down what you eat to see what your habits are, and what areas you need to focus on!  This will help you create a meal plan and a system that works for you, that you can follow!

Need some one-on-one assistance?  Email me at krysty@runthismom.com!

Once you’ve created a meal plan, it’s time to create your shopping list!  A typical shopping list for me contains the following:

  • Organic/cage free chicken breasts
  • Organic/cage free eggs
  • Egg whites
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Frozen broccoli
  • Frozen or fresh green beans
  • Nut butter (almond, cashew or natural peanut)
  • Organic spinach, or spinach and kale blend (for smoothies)
  • Brown rice or Quinoa
  • Salsa
  • Plain Greek Yogurt and vanilla greek yogurt (I love Chobani!)
  • Almond milk – original or vanilla unsweetened
  • Berries – any kind that is a great price
  • Carrots
  • Hummus
  • Zucchini – green and yellow
  • Tuna – canned or pouch in water
  • Ground turkey
  • Whole grain bread, or sprouted bread like Udi’s
  • Apples
  • Bananas
  • Avocados – whole or wholly guacamole packets (packets are better for travel and lunch bags!)
  • Nuts – dry roasted almonds, cashews, pistachios
  • Oats – quick oats, steel cut your choice
  • Dates – medjool are my favorite (great pre run fuel, or processed really fine for adding some sweet to your smoothie!)
  • Peppers – all colors
  • Diced Fire roasted tomatoes
  • Organic dark chocolate
  • Hearts of romaine
  • Dried berries, and fruits like apricots (great for mid-run fuel!)

I know there is generally more on my list, or more that ends up in my cart by the time I’m done, but this is a good start.  This is by no means a comprehensive list, and does not include pantry staples like almond flour, chia seeds, and the sweeteners mentioned above.  You might look at this list and wonder what kind of meals I can make from it, so here are some typical meals I would make from these ingredients:

  • Turkey meatballs
  • Sweet potato hash with grilled peppers and poached eggs
  • Chipotle turkey (or chicken) shell-less tacos
  • Trail mix (nuts and dried berries w/ organic dark chocolate)
  • Spinach and protein smoothie
  • Spinach and strawberry salad (in which case I would also get feta)
  • Quinoa stuffed peppers with ground turkey
  • Sweet egg whites

There are lots more options from this list above, but I this is a good start if you are needing some inspiration to get going.

Happy meal planning!

10 thoughts on “30 Day Clean Eating challenge: Day 2 Shopping list & meal plans”

  1. Hi! Just stumbled on your blog via googling clean eating diet plan 🙂 Looks like a great plan – are you using any books or sites for your inspiration? I’m trying to gather more info for myself. Thanks!

    1. Hi Robin! Thanks for stopping by! Yes, I have another post entitled “Resources” that lists a few sites, the book I got and also a link to Clean Eating Magazine. I am also reading another book called Fit For Life by Harvey & Marilyn Diamond. It’s not “clean eating” per se, but has some great points that parallel clean eating. I will be doing a review on that when I am done. Thanks again for stopping by, I hope that these posts can help you on your journey!

    1. Thanks for stopping by!

      I continue to work towards a full time clean eating lifestyle, but pregnancy cravings make that challenging sometimes!

      1. Could you please give me some ideas? I’m only on my 5th week of clean eating and i still want to lose 22 more lbs! 🙂

      2. I highly suggest checking out my Post “Share The Wealth”, it has not only shopping lists and meal plans, but a very large list of healthy recipes that are either fully clean, or minimally processed. Hope that helps!

    1. Well, it depends on how large of a family I guess. The shopping list in this post is for me, and my Hubby. So for a family of 4, 6 etc…multiply the ingredients on the shopping list accordingly. That is what I would do anyway. For a larger family I would seek out co-ops, and crop shares for nearly all of my produce, check for local farmers markets, or even find a community garden and get a plot or add some crops to your own backyard. Make that produce last as long as possible by freezing, or canning what you can. Contact a local farmer and buy direct for things like chicken and beef…get a few other families to go in with you and buy a whole cow let’s say. Most local farmers have deals with local Butcher Shops for things like that. It ends up being MUCH cheaper than shopping at a local grocer for meat by the package.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

