Feta stuffed Turkey Meatballs


In an effort to eat a bit cleaner, and get better lean protein I have started to make these beauties on a regular basis.  I wish however, that they wouldn’t be as dry 😦  so as much as I’d like to do without the crackers in this recipe, I have to use them to keep the meatballs moist.

Feta Stuffed Turkey Meatballs

1 lb extra lean turkey
1/4 cup red onion finely chopped
1 tbs basil
1 egg
1 tbs minced garlic
6 ritz crackers, crushed
1/4 cup feta crumbles
 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix all ingredients together in a medium bowl.  Form 2-3″ balls and place on a cookie sheet line with tin foil.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until meatballs are cooked through.  Makes 15-18 meatballs.

I try to make sure that each meatball has one large chunk of feta in the middle.  And I have also made these sans feta for a totally lean meatball.  Both ways are equally yummy.  I also prefer to bake these rather than cook on the stove-top.

7 thoughts on “Feta stuffed Turkey Meatballs”

      1. No prob! After I posted it, I also thought about crushed up Ryvita crackers; yum. I did that before when I made falafels and it worked well. Plus, they taste pretty good with guacamole, and you can identify everything on the list of ingredients!

  1. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, awesome blog!

    1. Oh thanks, that is strange because I don’t seem to having issues in explorer. But I also use a netbook, so I may not be seeing it.

Leave a Reply

