Have you been Vegucated?


For the last few months I have been watching a food related documentary once per week.  And this week I watched Vegucated.  I have not been writing about them, but perhaps I should!

 

vegucated

The premise behind the movie is a challenge.  Hey!!  I like challenges!!  3 people. 6 weeks.  One challenge.

Here is the synopsis from the website:

Part sociological experiment and part adventure comedy, Vegucated follows three meat- and cheese-loving New Yorkers who agree to adopt a vegan diet for six weeks. Lured by tales of weight lost and health regained, they begin to uncover the hidden sides of animal agriculture that make them wonder whether solutions offered in films like Food, Inc. go far enough. This entertaining documentary showcases the rapid and at times comedic evolution of three people who discover they can change the world one bite at a time.

So after watching the film, and being horrified by the treatment of animals…I feel compelled to make a huge change in my life.  Remember when I said I was going meat free?  But I never really did.  I wasn’t ready for that kind of change.  But I now know that I can be!  I have been a vegetarian before, in high school and now…well I don’t eat much meat.  So I believe that I can make this transition to being veggie powered with little to no kicking and screaming.

So over the weekend I will begin researching how to transition into this lifestyle, as I know that I cannot take drastic action all at once and jump in head first without knowing what I am getting into.  But here are some things that I do already

*I drink soy milk, like Silk

*I eat lots of fruits and veggies

*I do not eat veal

 

But here are the things that are going to be very hard for me:

*Cheese…thank goodness for veg alternatives!

*Eggs…but after watching the documentary I see that I can work around that!

*Burgers…I do like a good burger.  But as long as they keep making veggie burgers I am all set.

I will have to change my mindset from “I can’t have it” to “I can have it but I don’t want it”

Leave a Reply

