Documentary of the week: Fed up!


For the last few weeks I’ve been watching and reviewing documentaries regarding the food and health industry, to broaden my knowledge and to keep me on track. It sounds strange that an in-your-face look at how bad our nation’s food industry has become would keep me on track and keep me motivated I know.  But really it does.  It gives me hope for a future home garden so that I never have to eat mass produced produce again.

So this week’s film is Fed Up!  And here is a little info about the film:

FedUP

“About 70% of the food we eat contains genetically modified ingredients and is not labeled. The biotechnology industry is spending $50 million a year to convince us that this technology is our only hope for feeding the world and saving the environment. Family farmers are disappearing at an astonishing rate as people continue to go hungry both here and abroad. Toxic agricultural chemicals continue to poison our air, food and water and put farm workers in serious danger. What’s a person to do?

Using hilarious and disturbing archival footage (from archive.org) and featuring interviews with farmers, scientists, government officials and activists, FED UP! presents an entertaining, informative and compelling overview of our current food production system from the Green Revolution to the Biotech Revolution and what we can do about it. FED UP! explores the unintentional effects of pesticides, the resistance of biotechnology companies to food labeling and the links between government officials and major biotechnology and chemical companies.”

 

What are your thoughts on GMOs?  I am very much against eating foods that have been genetically modified.  I don’t want to be putting strange things in my body that were never meant to be there.  The farther I get into my journey the more strict I am about what I put in my body.

I want real food, and not food that was created in a lab!  What about you?

Leave a Reply

