30 Day Clean Eating Challenge revisited


30 Day Clean Eating Challenge Revisited

When I published this post I had no idea that it would be so popular!  So I decided to revisit the topic now that I am growing a human.  Eating clean sounds simple right?  Well, not when our society is constantly bombarded by convenience foods, fast food, junk, and super sized portions.

So I came up with some tips to help those of you first starting out on the eating clean journey.

1. Eat foods that don’t have labels, or come in a box. Real food has only 1 ingredient.

2. If the food  is a plant eat it, if it’s made in a plant leave it.

3. Get hydrogenated oil out of your cart, kitchen , and mouth.

4. If you aren’t able to pronounce ingredients, your body can’t process them.

5. If you do consume packaged foods, opt for minimally processed foods with less than 5 ingredients.

6. White is not good.  Steer clear of white bread, sugar, pasta.

7. Use coconut oil and olive oil for cooking.  Oils, like corn and soy based oils are toxic and highly processed.

8. Stay away from artificial sweeteners, preservatives, additives, and food dyes. They are man-made chemicals that do no good to your body.

9.  STAY HYDRATED! Drink ample amounts of water daily.  And by ample I mean a gallon.

10. Support your local farmers and hit the farmers market on the weekend.  It’s much more cost effective, they are often organic, and you are supporting local farmers and co-ops!  It’s a win-win for every BODY.

I totally get that eating clean can be expensive, so to help make it more budget friendly here is a list of foods that are less than $1 per serving

  1. Beans
  2. Lentils
  3. Eggs
  4. Nuts like peanuts & almonds
  5. Oats
  6. Pumpkin seeds
  7. Tofu
  8. Chicken breasts
  9. Canned seafood like tuna & salmon
  10. Whey protein, I love my Isagenix.  Undenatured, and hormone free!
  11. Low fat yogurt
  12. Low fat milk
  13. Low fat cottage cheese
  14. Whole grain pasta
  15. Brown rice
  16. pop corn
  17. Quinoa
  18. Pretty much all fruits like apples, grapes, berries, melons, bananas
  19. Garlic
  20. Canned pumpkin puree
  21. Canned tomatoes like diced tomatoes
  22. onions
  23. sweet potatoes
  24. Squash
  25. kale
  26. beets
  27. Spinach
  28. carrots
  29. Coffee
  30. Tea
  31. Water..FREE

And I don’t know about you, but I would rather spend a few hours once a week preparing my food for the week than have to spend time every day trying to figure out what to eat.  Because I will eventually end up saying “there’s nothing to eat!!” and have a bowl of cereal.  So I like to cook in bulk, and it works great for meal time in our house.  So check out this fantastic post from Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean.

One new thing that I will be doing when our new deep freezer arrives is making portioned smoothie packs and sticking them in the freezer.  Here’s what will go in each pack (stay tuned for the post on that soon!!)

Fruit Smoothies:

  1. 1/2 a banana
  2. A handful of berries (strawberries/blueberries)
  3. Handful of spinach
  4. Handful of kale
  5. Frozen yogurt cubes

Veggie Smoothies:

  1. Handful of Kale
  2. Handful of spinach
  3. Frozen V8 cubes
  4. 1/2 and apple

Of course I have no idea how they will turn out.  When making them I will add ice, and perhaps a scoop of my Isagenix protein powder to make a full meal.  I know that these smoothies will be super handy when The Bump arrives and I turn into a nursing machine.  And I will be getting tons of the nutrition that I need, and so will The Bump!

20120820-132433.jpg

Have you taken the 30 Day Clean Eating Challenge yet?  How was it?  Have you stayed with it?  Share your story!!

Other Clean Eating resources you may enjoy

30 Day Clean Eating Challenge

7 Day Clean Eating Challenges

Share The Wealth

 

4 thoughts on “30 Day Clean Eating Challenge revisited”

  1. Thanks for this blog!! I actually came across your original 30 day clean eating challenge blog a few weeks ago which really put a bug in me to get back to eating clean. I put it up on FB that I was gonna start a 30 day CE challenge and if anyone wanted to join in w/me great!! Well I start with my group of 15 tomorrow our CE challenge!! I have gotten so off track and thought I have to do this need to get back on track!!!!

    1. You are most welcome! Keep me posted on how your challenge goes! I am excited to hear your experience with it!

Leave a Reply

