Week 21


The Bump is getting bigger everyday, and so am I!

Week 21

 

 

How far along? 21 Weeks

Due Date: October 23rd 2013

Baby is the size of a: Banana at 10.5 inches and 12.7 oz (check out the link….heeeeheeehaawww!!!)

Total weight gain:  Just about 11 pounds.  See below for the rant about the midwife on that one…

Maternity clothes? I am making a lot of my own, but I am learning that pants, or anything tight on my hips is really uncomfortable…maxi skirts/dresses all summer! Wooo!

Stretch marks? No, and yes…and I say that because I do not have belly stretch marks, but I do have some on my hips that I have had for years…they are just becoming more noticeable as my hips widen and my belly grows.  I have been using jojoba oil on them… but that’s a post for a different day!

Sleep: Meh.  It’s off and on.  I have been trying to nap, or at the very least rest for an hour each day if I didn’t sleep well that night.  But it’s getting better.  A little…

Movement: I am convinced that The Bump is going to be a kickboxer, or a drummer.  This morning she kicked me so hard I jumped!  I must admit it’s very freaky to feel it.  But totally beautiful and awesome at the same time!

Gender:  The Bump is a girl!

Names? And as you can see, her name is Hadley.  But we are not revealing her middle name until she is here!

Best moment this week: Trying to explain to my 2 year old niece who Baby Hadley is, and where she is.  She just laughed and had that “You guys are so crazy!!” look on her face.  Love it!

Miss Anything: Running!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  No running for me until I get the OK after The Bump arrives.

Food cravings: Nothing major this week…still on the fruit.  But the fruit punch craving has all but disappeared!

Anything making you queasy or sick: Being a passenger in a car…I now get car sick…super!

Labor Signs: None

Symptoms: Heartburn, and lots of it!  I have been ok so far today…but ya never know when she’ll strike!

Wedding rings on or off? On

Belly Button in or out? In…but I am starting to approach the Outie city limits I think…

Happy or Moody most of the time: My mood is muuuuuuch better this last week.  I was quite down the last few weeks, I don’t like to talk about it with anyone other than The Hubby, but perhaps I will share that in a post in the future.

Looking forward to: Meeting our sweet baby…

Baby purchases: Oy…lots recently.  I have been hitting garage sales and snapping up lots of cute baby clothes, and even getting a few things for the baby shower!

 

I had a midwife appointment this week; and saw a new midwife.  I guess I won’t always see the same one if they are not “on duty” that day.  Well…I now know to ask who it will be.  I did not like this one. At. All.  She was really short with me.  She did not discuss anything regarding The Bump being SUA…and even gave me a dirty look for uttering the words SUA.  “we don’t use that term on the charts” she replied snidely.  I asked her how it would affect The Bump’s growth, and she told me it wouldn’t.  Ok. Fine…but that is not what the OB said.

Then she went on to chastise my weight gain.  Claiming I’d gained 13-14 pounds, and to “slow it down”.   No ma’am.  11 pounds.  Even on the clinic scale after eating a rather large breakfast of 1 cup of life cereal with 1/2 cup grapes, 1 cup cottage cheese, 8 oz water and a cup of coffee, it’s barely 11 pounds.  A few weeks ago my regular midwife told me my weight was perfect, spot on for where it should be.  And at that time I’d only gained 10 lbs.  When I got pregnant I weighed 124.x; but before I knew I was I went down to 121 due to nausea and lack of appetite for my regular diet.  But when I tested I was at 124 again.  So that is the pre-pregnancy weight I’m going with.  This morning I weighed in at 135.2. So there rude midwife!  Don’t tell a pregnant woman she’s getting too fat.  Rule #1 folks, and she should know that.

Ok enough of that!  I really am loving my baby bump, The Bump…it’s amazing to be so in love with someone that you’ve never met. I could gush all day about how happy I am and how excited we are…but there is so much to do to get ready for her!  Project Apartment Makeover must continue!

Leave a Reply

