HHH: Going natural – oil and honey cleansing


I have been doing this new skin care routine for most of the last week, along with using lavender oil on some of my stubborn acne spots and I am really loving it! It’s called the Oil Cleansing Method.

I found the OCM at thank your body. And the lavender oil tip came from Crunchy Betty’s list of natural acne remedies.

Bare faced

This is me…bare faced for all the world to see.  I am only wearing a bit of mascara…and my skin is so happy right now!!

Honestly, I have never been happier with my face. My face is not greasy, or oily; I have encountered ZERO new breakouts and the two spots on my neck that have been plaguing me for months, and months…even since before The Bump moved in have almost healed totally…and the scars/red marks have almost disappeared. The tone and color of my skin look amazing…I am finally feeling that Pregnancy Glow! I will never, ever use a commercial cleanser, moisturizer, or acne treatment EVER. AGAIN.

So here’s what ya need:

20130617-184803.jpg

First you’ll need some oil.  I use jojoba because it’s great for acne prone skin.  But others include:

  • Sweet almond or grapeseed oil.  These are great for oily skin.
  • Avocado or Apricot Kernel oil.  Great for dry skin.
  • A blend of Olive oil and castor oil:

Dry skin: 3:1 ratio olive oil to castor oil
Normal skin: 1:1 ratio of olive oil to castor oil
Oily skin: 1:3 ratio olive oil to castor oil

You can use coconut oil too.

The method:

  1. Pour a generous puddle of oil into the palm of your hand (a little bit more than the size of a quarter). Rub your hands together to warm the oil up and then smooth it over your face.  I usually wet my face just a tiny bit.
  2. Massage the oil into your face for a couple of minutes. Not only will this remove makeup, dirt, or toddler snot, but it will also help relax the muscles and tone the skin. Take your time, using slow and firm motions, to massage the oil deep into your pores. Take specific care to work any problem areas. Enjoy this time.
  3. Once you feel like your pores are fully saturated, pick up your washcloth and soak it in clean, hot (but not scalding) water. The warm washcloth will help open your pores and remove the oil. Place the washcloth over your face. Leave it there for 10 – 20 seconds to open the pores.  My favorite part!
  4. Gently wipe the oil away and rinse the washcloth out. Wipe and rinse two or three times until you feel like the excess oil is off your face. Don’ scrub.
  5. If you skin feels too tight or dry when you are done, take a couple of drops of your oil blend and rub it between your hands. Then simply massage the oil residue onto your face. No need for commercial moisturizers! This is an all-in-one product!
  6. In the Morning, cleanse with the same process but using honey instead of the oil.

Why this is so awesome…

Oil is your friend!  I know it may seem counter-intuitive to wash your face with oil.  Especially if you’re like me and have oily skin.  But I am sure that the only reason I have oily skin is due to the massive amount of crap I have been piling on my face for the last 20 years to get rid of oil.  Which then dries my face out too much leaving nasty scaly patches and then I pile on a moisturizer that helps exfoliate, leading to a screaming,stinging, red face.  All the while I have whiteheads, blackheads and the worst: cystic acne.

Conventional cleansers, acne included strip your face of it’s natural oils that moisturize and protect it.  Causing your face to put oil production into overdrive.  End result: oily skin, and an unhappy you.

Honey is also your friend.  Now, I cannot stand the smell of honey.  At. All.  It actually makes me gag a bit.  But I am willing to sacrifice this inconvenience for happy skin.  Honey is an anti-bacterial, which helps to ward off those nasty breakouts.

My routine also includes a nightly dose of Lavender oil on my trouble spots, which are fading fast.  This has been my acne’s worst enemy this week!!

I will be telling all of my friends and family about it…you’ve been warned.

4 thoughts on “HHH: Going natural – oil and honey cleansing”

    1. I love this method! I am transitioning everything else to homemade, I want no “yuck” chemicals in this house when The Bump arrives!

Leave a Reply

