7 Day Clean Eating Detox


I am badly in need of a detox…

Since becoming pregnant I have reverted to my old ways.  The ways that got me here…in the before picture…

before & after

 

And I have found myself using excuses to justify eating that triple serving of cereal, or ice cream twice in one day and not working out.  Excuses like: “It’s what Baby wants”; or “I am craving it” and the worst “I don’t have the energy/time”.  No more.   I don’t want to be that fat mom, the one who feels so bad because I gained too much weight while pregnant.  I refuse to be that fat mom.

I can’t lose weight while pregnant…or can I?  According to an article on Reuters.com by Amy Norton,  it can be beneficial for obese women to stick to a healthy diet and get on an exercise routine to maintain their weight or even lose a few pounds.  I however, do not fit that category.  But that is not to say that I shouldn’t manage my weight gain better.

30 Day Clean Eating Challenge Revisited

So I am going to do a 7 day clean eating challenge to detox my body of all of the sugar and junk that I have been putting into it over the last few months.  Which also means that I am going to try to jump start my metabolism again.  Based on the spike of weight gain this week I can tell that it has taken a downward turn.  And I know that my Clean Eating Challenge, and the revisit are big sources of traffic on my blog so if you are just getting started, or are interested in learning more, this might be a great way to ease into this new lifestyle.

Here’s what it will look like:

  • Eating 5-6 meals per day…not just eating mindlessly all day long
  • No processed sugar…so no sugar cereal, no ice cream, no artificial sweeteners at all.
  • Lots of fruits and veggies, including some smoothies and juices!
  • Lean meats, and proteins like egg whites, chicken breasts and turkey breasts.
  • Using my Isagenix shakes as snacks between meals, especially now that I can have them again.
  • No simple carbs like cereal and sugar stuffs! Complex only, like the ones that come from spinach, broccoli and beans.
  • Drinking LOTS of water.  Then drink more.  I am shooting for about a gallon a day.  It’s getting hot here now, so I need to make sure that I am staying hydrated!

Sooooo…

I like to have a plan as you might know…below is a sample of what my meal plan will be for this week to ease back into a clean eating lifestyle.  I am only showing 4 days here as the remaining 3 will be some combination of the other 4.  Each of these meals should be around 300 calories, or a little more.  In my second Trimester I should be eating around 1500-1600 calories per day.  This meal plan has me eating right about that by my estimate, although I will track this week in My Fitness Pal, and update each meal with the actual calorie count for that meal & day.  So check back on this post for updates!

Day 1:

Breakfast:

  • Cup of coffee, with a splash of milk
  • Oats and berries
  • Banana

Snack 1:

  • Isagenix shake
  • Apple

Lunch:

  • Steamed chicken breast
  • Veggies
  • Cottage cheese & berries

Snack 2:

  • Veggie Smoothie
  • Orange

Dinner:

Snack 3: Optional

  • Hand Fruit (apple, orange, banana, plum etc)

 

Day 2:

Breakfast:

  • Cup of coffee, with a splash of milk
  • Egg whites & salsa
  • Banana

Snack 1:

  • Fruit smoothie
  • Apple

Lunch:

  • Freekeh bowl (freekeh, chicken breast & veggies)
  • yogurt and berries

Snack 2:

  • Isagenix shake
  • Orange

Dinner:

  • Brown rice, veggies
  • Steamed Chicken breast
  • Protein pudding (Isagenix chocolate shake mixed with water)

Snack 3: Optional

  • Hand Fruit (apple, orange, banana, plum etc)
  • OR Isagenix slim cake (oatmeal berry cookie)

 

Day 3: Meat free day

Breakfast:

  • Cup of coffee, with a splash of milk
  • Oats and berries
  • egg whites

Snack 1:

  • Isagenix shake
  • Banana w/ PB

Lunch:

Snack 2:

  • Veggie Smoothie
  • Apple

Dinner:

  • Egg white & veggie omelet
  • Cottage cheese & berries

Snack 3: Optional

  • Hand Fruit (apple, orange, banana, plum etc)

 

Day 4:

Breakfast:

  • Cup of coffee, with a splash of milk
  • Oats and berries
  • Banana

Snack 1:

  • Fruit smoothie
  • Apple & PB

Lunch:

  • Steamed chicken breast
  • Veggies
  • Cottage cheese & berries

Snack 2:

  • Isagenix shake
  • fruit salad

Dinner:

  • Roasted veggies, and Freekeh
  • Steamed Chicken breast/tofu
  • Fruit salad

Snack 3: Optional

  • Hand Fruit (apple, orange, banana, plum etc)

 

I will share the veggie & smoothie recipes when I make them, as I will be making them in bulk to put in the freezer for easy use later!  I realize that this plan is not clean clean, but it’s much cleaner than what I’ve been eating!

And of course along with eating better, a little exercise goes a long way.  I will be easing back into a much less intense routine than I am used to.  Mainly consisting of walking, the stationary bike, and a few pre-natal videos I have; and of course yoga!  And maybe even a little guns and buns… 🙂

Leave a Reply

