Week 23


23 weeks

How far along? 23 weeks

Due Date: October 23rd 2013

Baby is the size of a: Large Mango, 11.5 inches, and 1.1 lbs

Total weight gain: Just shy of 14 pounds…and it’s ALL baby!

Maternity clothes? I did a lot of maternity shopping this week…stay tuned for a Maternity wardrobe post here soon!

Stretch marks? None on the belly, the coconut oil seems to be helping the hips though!

Sleep:  Much better now that we have the new big bed!

Movement:  I had a very active little Bump last night!

Gender:  The Bump is a girl!

Names?  We’ve chosen Hadley as her first name…but are keeping her middle name a secret for now!

Best moment this week: When my husband told me how he knew that I was the one “I knew you were the one when I realized that even if someone as hot as Scar Jo came a knocking offering to shack up for a month, I’d have to say no.  Because I realized I could never do that to my best friend and ruin what I have”.  Meaning…that I am the hottest chick in his world.  Dudes, take note: That is the best thing ever to say to your pregnant wife. ❤

Miss Anything: Nothing this week!

Food cravings: Just fruit, as usual!

Anything making you queasy or sick:  nope!

Labor Signs: None

Symptoms: A little bit out of breath these days, and the gums are bleeding a bit more this week 😦

Wedding rings on or off? On!

Belly Button in or out? Outtie city limits are upon us.  I sense a breakthrough in the next 2 weeks.

Happy or Moody most of the time: I am overflowing with happiness.  I am so in love with this little life inside me.  I cannot wait for her to get here!!

Looking forward to: Nice weather!  We’ve had a very rainy June, and lots of big nasty storms the last week or so, and I need some sunshine!!

Baby purchases: Had lunch with the ‘Rents today and brought home a trunk load of stuff: diapers, clothes, shoes, socks…blankets and a few toys!  The Bump is getting spoiled already!  Much love to Gma and Papa!

I had been feeling very insecure about my weight gain since getting scolded by the crabby midwife, but in reality the 14 pounds that I have gained is pretty much:

  • Baby 1.1 lb
  • Placenta, probably about 1 pound at this point
  • Amniotic Fluid, and enlarged uterus I would estimate about 2 pounds maybe more
  • Not to mention the girls are now in a new size, and actually I should have gone up one more size.  So lets say about 2 pounds in extra sleep cannon tissue.
  • Plus extra fat stores to aide in labor, delivery and breastfeeding, say 5-6 pounds at this point.

And based on what I’ve found for what’s normal and healthy I am right smack in the middle of a normal healthy gain for this point in the game.  I will be aiming for about 1 pound a week for the next 17, or so.  It’s crazy to think that in 17 weeks The Bump will be here!

We can’t wait!!

2 thoughts on “Week 23”

Leave a comment