Happy Hippie Housewife: Homemade laundry soap


After seeing how much the cost of laundry soap has gone up in the last few years, and then seeing all of the homemade versions out there, I decided to give the homemade a go!

Please note I have not yet tried this out! I have not been able to use the machines across the hall all day, and our new laundry room is still under construction. But here is the how-to and I will certainly post an update once I have had a chance to try it out.

This is a no-grate, no cook method, which is a super time saver!

20130709-141745.jpg

What you need (per gallon):

3 Tbs Borax

3 Tbs Washing Soda

2-3 Tbs liquid soap ( I used 2, but may up it on the next round to 3)

Empty containers, like laundry soap, or milk jugs like I used.

4 cups boiling water

 

I used Dr. Bonner’s liquid castile soap.  The original DIY I found called for Dawn…but I won’t buy it because I cannot stand the smell of it.  It makes me gag…eww.  Besides the castile soap is organic, and unscented.  So it’s a bonus for this hippie mama!

I also recommend using a funnel to get the ingredients into your containers, unless they are wide mouth, but mine weren’t so the funnel was super handy in not making a mess!

I made 3 gallons at once, so it was very fast to get all of them done in one shot.

Just add your dry ingredients, and the liquid soap to your container.  Next add 4 cups boiling water, and swirl and swish the container around until the dry ingredients are dissolved.  Then, let it cool a bit and fill the rest of the container with cold water.  If you use Dawn, you’ll have a bit more suds in the bottle…let those run over.  But the castile soap is not as sudsy so I didn’t have to do that.  Then cap and store!

20130709-141751.jpg

I also decided to try 1 gallon as lavender scented, just to give it a try.  So the two 1/2 gallon containers are lavender scented, and I added about 8 drops of lavender to each container. I will let you know how I like them!

20130709-141757.jpg

I used the same lavender oil that I have been using on my face with my oil & honey cleansing.  I still love this method, and my face is happy…but my trouble spots are not gone completely.  In fact I am in the middle of a flare up right now…but I know it’s par for the course with the pregnancy.  So I will just deal with it and hope it goes away after The Bump is here.

I may also give some of the other suggestions on Crunchy Betty’s list a try, but I want to give this more time and see if I just need more patience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

