Happy Hippie Housewife: going natural – Homemade Mouthwash


Part of the Holmberg Minimal Spending Act of 2013 has been to cut down on some of the expensive products we use, either by going without, or finding a less expensive alternative.  And Mouthwash was a big expenditure that I wanted to cut down to pretty much nothing.  True, there is the Dollar Tree and their mouthwash at a buck, but the bottles are small, and well…I think I can do better.

Thanks to my awesome sister-in-law I got her recipe for homemade mouthwash!

20130715-171725.jpg

 

What you need:

Filtered water (unfiltered is ok too…)

Hydrogen Peroxide

Peppermint Extract

xorbitol or stevia

Empty bottle

I like these 1:1 recipes, it makes putting together a test batch easier!

So this is 1/2 water, 1/2 hydrogen peroxide and then add peppermint extract and the sweetener to taste.  I added about 1 Tsp of extract, as that was all I had left.  And 4 packets of the Stevia.  It could be more minty, and a bit sweeter, but this batch of 32 oz is fine for now to try and see how we like it.  I also used a funnel to make sure my clumsy self didn’t make a mess!

It foams up in your mouth a bit, even after you spit…so DO NOT SWALLOW that, rinse with plain water after, and spit that out too.  I tried it out a few times while I was perfecting the taste, and I think it works quite well!

 

Leave a Reply

