Happy Hippie Housewife: going natural – Homemade dishwasher Tabs


Yay it’s another installment of the Happy Hippie Housewife!

Aren’t you excited….

As mentioned earlier this week, we in the Holmberg house enacted the Holmberg Minimal Spending Act of 2013 and I have been busy making as many of the items that we use for hygiene and household cleaners as I possibly can…and guess what?  I can make all of them!  So this week I made Mouthwash, and today I will talk about dishwasher tabs…something so ridiculously expensive and needlessly so.

20130715-172701.jpg

I have been able to make all of the items I have made the last few weeks with items I already had around the house.  Score!

What you need:

1 cup Borax

1 Cup washing soda

1/2 cup epsom salt

And about 3/4- 1 cup of lemon juice

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, and then add the lemon juice.  Mix well.  You want it to be sort of sticky, like a paste.  And mine didn’t really get quite there…

The original how-to that I found only called for 8-10 tbs of lemon juice…but I used a combination of lemon and lime juices, and 8-10 was so not enough.  I used roughly 15 tbs of the lemon/lime combo and still had to add 2 tbs of water to get it to be sticky.

Then form the tabs, I used ice cube trays and only filled the trays about half way up, to make sure that the tabs fit in the dishwasher.

Then let them dry out overnight.

Review:

Holy moley, they worked awesome!  My dishwasher smelled nice and clean for the first time in a while, no spots, or left-overs…

I am giving this two thumbs up, and can’t wait to make more.  No more store bought for this hippie housewife!

I might try to play with other scents in the next batch, as I wasn’t too jazzed about the smell while I was mixing.  Perhaps Orange?  I may have to get some orange oil here soon, since my SIL just shared a how-to for orange cleaner using an orange oil base!  Woohoo!

4 thoughts on “Happy Hippie Housewife: going natural – Homemade dishwasher Tabs”

  1. Hi there, I am going to the store to buy the ingredients now as I just used my last dishwasher tab this morning! 🙂 Just wondering if you can tell me how many tabs this will make. Thanks for the great idea.

    1. Of course! Thanks for stopping by!

      This particular batch made 28 tabs, I used 2 ice cube trays and filled them about half way. Good luck!

  2. What other at home cleaning stuff have you made? 🙂 You should have a link for these. I am also a hippie and looking to get away from so many chemicals in my life.

Leave a Reply

