The Benefits of Yoga


yoga-300x207

 

It’s been awhile since I’ve been able to practice in a studio…The Bump has really hindered my ability to do many of my favorite poses.  So over the last few months I have been really understanding the benefits of regular practice!  I miss the flexibility and the calm, and the toned body!

Benefits-of-Yoga-Infographic

But there are lots of other benefits to regular practice!

The first thing I noticed was better sleep!  Doing yoga and meditating before bed allowed me to sleep more deeply, and get a better recovery.  I woke feeling refreshed and ready to take on the day!  I have never been a great sleeper, so this was the #1 biggest benefit for me.

Another awesome benefit of yoga is the glowing skin.  Regular practice helps relieve stress, which is one of the biggest villains of your body’s largest organ.  Stress can lead to acne, and even warts!  Yoga can help skin heal faster and stay clear.  I loved this one, I would look in the mirror and see this bright luminescent skin and feel like I was doing something great for my body.

And tee-hee…yes a better sex life.  Hey… flexibility+hot skin=desire.  And I do find it interesting that just 3 weeks after starting to practice 4x per week that I got pregnant…after 2 years of “trying” and seeing nothing happen.  Yoga is a proven stress reliever, and it does so many more things internally that I feel like I can place a large amount of The Bump existence to yoga.

Looking for more benefits?  Check out this article from The Yoga Journal for 38 more ways yoga can keep you healthy.

I love the idea of being able to practice in my own living room…so I did some hunting and found these great videos on YouTube for Prenatal Yoga

Prenatal Yoga with Lara Dutta – Routine

Prenatal Yoga with Summer Huntington

Prenatal Kundalini Yoga with Sarah Kamrath

Prenatal Yoga with Lara Dutta – Har Har Meditation

I hope to be able to add these into my routine for some stress relief now that we have NST twice per week…I know I am going to need some sort of “Me Time” to keep my sanity.

Mommies…did you continue your practice?  Do you involve your babies in your current practice?

Leave a Reply

