Holmberg Freezer Fill Up Party Prep Pt.2


In Part 1, I laid out the menu and the sheer volume of meals along with the general plan for this event.

In this post I will be showing you how I made the mother of all shopping lists.

shopping list

I am working off the menu, adding the main ingredients that are needed, the qty and then I have a pivot table that sums up all of the items into grand totals.  As I said in part 1, all of these recipes are doubled, so all of these items are needed in large quantities.  One thing that I know I may have to pre-order is the meat.  I know that I am going to have to work with the meat department to make sure that if I need 30 pounds of ground beef…that I can get it the day of!  If you are planning any kind of a shopping trip where this much of any one item is needed, I highly advise working with the store to make sure you can get what you need, and not clear the shelf for other people.

I am not adding spices etc to the list as we have a cabinet full; and I will be planning out week to week what we need for each meal, shopping the pantry and then shopping for the week.

pivot table

The next step is to plan for the damage to our card.  This week I will be filling in the cost per unit of each item to get an idea of how much this is going to cost us.  It should, in theory be less than 3 months worth of our regular grocery budget.  So then the only things we’d need to get each week is anything we may need for the week, like milk, bread and eggs.  Then also shopping our pantry to ensure that I am not buying, and then having to in turn store unnecessary items until they are needed.  And lastly…going coupon crazy to save as much money as possible.  Because I am figuring before any kind of discount that this will cost us around $1000…but I think I am underestimating it a bit… as the average cost of a pound of ground beef is $4.89 here in Minneapolis at Target…and I am pretty sure I’ll need at least 35 pounds… that comes out to $171.15 in just beef.

This is by far the largest project I have planned.  The Hubby says that’s not true since I coordinated a destination wedding, with 20 guests in 5 weeks…and it was flawless.  But I think planning the logistics of this 2 day event is a lot.  Especially at 9 months pregnant!

Stay tuned for Part 3!

Leave a Reply

