Everybody needs a placenta for a pillow, everybody needs a placenta…


Or maybe that’s just The Bump…I dunno.

Stubborn little Bump won’t leave her placenta pillow.  In the Baby Turning Olympics, The Bump has reigned supreme:

  • Inversions: 0  Bump:4
  • Ice Pack: 0  Bump: 4
  • Moxibustion: 1 Bump: 1

20131004-073833.jpg

I am giving the Moxa 1 point because I know that she did leave the placenta pillow, if only briefly, last night after the 2nd treatment.  She rumbled, and squirmed for quite some time last night…hours and hours in fact.  But when my heartburn alarm went off at 5:30 am, the little stubborn princess had gone right back to it.

So I got up and did my 3rd treatment this morning.  Outside.

Because, holy moley it smells so bad!

So this is a great method for getting baby to turn.  The handout that I got states that in an independent study 70% of participants had baby turn using this method.  But others that I’ve found, a double blind study,  stated that nearly 93% of the Moxa users had baby turn.  So here’s hoping!

The Acupuncturist told me to do this in a well ventilated area,  but I am telling you: do it outside.  Otherwise your house will smell like burnt poo poo for days.  Some other Moxa tips:

  • Use gloves
  • Wear clothes that you don’t mind stinkin up
  • Cover your hair

20131004-073847.jpg

 

How to do it:

First get a consult with an Acupuncturist.  They will tell you everything you need to know, as well as give you the sticks.  Go for smokeless if you can, but I didn’t have that option.

The entire point of the treatment is to apply the heat from burning the Moxibustion stick to a pressure point on your foot.  The tiny little spot on the outside corner of your little toe, right at the bottom of the toenail.  Not on your skin, but as close as you can tolerate, because it’s hot, and heat can burn.  Which you do not want to do.  Hold it in place for 20 minutes.  The move on to the other foot.  I was instructed to do this 3x per day, and then immediately following each treatment, get on all fours, with my butt up and elbows on the floor.  In an effort to help The Bump using gravity.

Now…if you have a big pregnant belly like me, and can’t put your socks on anymore, this might prove to be a challenge.  So get your partner to help.  Sadly for me, with the Hubby’s Asthma, and a bit of a chest cold this week…I am flying solo on this one.  But Hopefully I won’t be doing these for the next few weeks.  I seriously hope that in a few treatments she gets her act together and goes bottoms up!

In a few short hours we have another growth scan, so I am hoping that this treatment will have helped The Bump get started turning, and we can check her progress!  It’s getting down to the wire now, and everyone is saying there is still lots of time…but clearly The Bump doesn’t do anything on a normal timeline…  I have a feeling that once she turns, it’ll be on like Donkey Kong and she’ll break my water.  Or she will wait until I am actually in labor to turn.  Why do anything until you actually need to…right?!

Time to go get the Hubby up!

Leave a Reply

