Hadley’s Birth Story Pt. 2


Read Part 1 of Hadley’s Birth story here.

The drive to the hospital was, uncomfortable to say the least. It is just a 15 minute or so drive from our house…but it felt like hours. I really thought it was a false alarm…I kept telling myself that we were going to get there, get checked out and it would all be a false alarm and we would get to go home. I really hoped we would get to go home. Because I knew what was going to happen, and I was not ready for it.

I knew The Bump had not turned.

20131020-203730.jpg

We got to the Labor and Delivery Triage desk and were taken back to an exam area. By this time, my contractions were getting closer to 5 minutes apart, and getting more intense. As we waited for the midwife to come in and check me, my anxiety kept climbing. I was trying so hard to hold back the tears…I was so scared, and nervous…it was a culmination of tons of emotions that I was not ready for!

The midwife came in and checked me…I was at a 4; and had a bulging bag of waters. I was definitely in labor. But she couldn’t tell if Hadley had turned or not. So they wheeled in an ultrasound machine…and sure enough…

Still Footling Breech.

20131020-203746.jpg

The tears instantly flowed. I did not want a c-section. I didn’t want it. I wanted to go home. I wanted to ask to go home. I didn’t want to do it. I cried through the catheter, I cried through the IV (both of them, as the nurse messed up the first one)…The Hubby left during the catheter part to grab some food…I could not stop the tears. I just wanted to go home. I cried all the way to the OR…through the Epidural…which was the WORST part. It took them 30 minutes to get it in. All the while I am having contractions, and I just want my Husband. They made him wait until I was strapped down to the table before they’d let him in. So instead I had the midwife in my face, the midwife I didn’t particularly like. The last person in the world that I wanted in my face was the only one that could be there.

Finally the Epidural was in, I got strapped to the table…and The Hubby was at my side. I was numb from the teeth down, and couldn’t see anything without my contacts. I was mad, and terrified.

But less than 20 minutes later…

20131020-203836.jpg

This beautiful child entered the world. Her cry was the most beautiful thing I had ever heard. I couldn’t see her yet, but I could hear her, and the doctors and nurses…and The Hubby all talking about her and how alert she was. The Hubby said she came out with her eyes wide open. Looking around and taking it all in.

20131020-203822.jpg

The moment they placed her on my chest my world stopped…time stopped. She was so beautiful. I had not expected to look her in the eyes and welcome her to the world…but there she was…eyes wide and looking into mine. And in that moment all of the fear, sadness, anxiety and feelings of failure melted away…never to be felt again. This was how she was supposed to enter the world.

1395194_557255225528_1369364855_n

Hadley Addison was born Monday October 7th 2013 at 6:18 pm weighing 4 pounds 15.5 ounces. She got a 9 & 9 on her Apgar. She was perfect. Beautiful, perfect and mine. Ours…we made this amazing creature.

It been 2 weeks…and she is the best baby ever. Very easy going and oh so happy.

Here are more birth day photos

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now the fun part begins…

4 thoughts on “Hadley’s Birth Story Pt. 2”

  1. It’s amazing how you fall completely and totally in love the second you lay your eyes on them! I was shocked by how much i loved my little one. It also hit my that this was probably how much my mom loved me…wow!

    I had c-sections with both of my boys. The first was not my choice since, as with Hadley, my little guy refused to turn. To me, I didn’t really care how he came into the world…i just wanted him here safe and sound, and that meant scheduled c-section. In the end, it wasn’t so bad, and I recovered quickly. With my second I chose to have a c-section as well – when talking to my doc about VBAC, i got freaked out by all the possible complications so chose c-section (and had my tubes tied while they were in there). So, 2 beautiful babies, and no labour…not a bad way to go in my opinion!

    She’s gorgeous, by the way 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! All in all..I am happy with then end result: a healthy, happy baby. I do wish I’d had the opportunity to labor with her, but that is not what her plan was.

      When our eyes met, it was like someone flipped a “mommy” switch in my brain and she suddenly became my whole world. I never imagined I’d love her this much.

  2. I stumbled across your daughter’s birth story and it reminded me so much of my sons story. At 40 weeks we discovered that he was frank breech. After my tearful plea of having a vaginal breech was denied we opted for a version the next morning which failed and was followed by a c-section. To put it shortly, I was overjoyed to have my son but his birth was not a positive experience (and that’s okay) for me. Just last year I had a natural labor and birth with my daughter. My VBAC was wonderful and was the best choice for myself and my family.

    Congratulations on your precious daughter! Take time to heal yourself and enjoy your babymoon!

Leave a Reply

