Lactation Cookies


cookies image

I had this goal to fill my freezer with my liquid gold…however it’s been much, much harder to do that than I imagined.  I had this idea in my head that because I am well endowed that my girls would we a veritable fountain of milk…but that is so not the case.  Luckily there are ways to help boost my supply, like Mother’s Milk Tea, supplements like Fenugreek and brewer’s yeast…also a nice dark beer will do the trick as well!

I have struggled to make enough to feed my little one, a lot.  I found got lots of advice and lactation cookies seemed to be an easy, and effective method to solve this issue.  So I made a big batch!

What you need:

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 3/4 c. rolled oats
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. butter, softened
1 c. ground flax seed
3 Tbs brewer’s yeast (I got mine at Whole Foods…check your local natural foods store)
1/3 c. water
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs
2 c. (12oz) chocolate chips
1 c. chopped nuts of your choice 
 
Directions:

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.  In a large bowl, beat almond butter, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, brewer’s yeast, flax and water until creamy.  Mix in eggs.  Gradually beat in flour mixture. Mix in nuts and chocolate chips. Slowly mix in oats. Place Tbsp.-sized balls of dough onto greased cookie sheets.  Press down each ball lightly with a fork.  Bake 12 minutes at 350F.  Allow to cool. Enjoy 2-3 cookies daily.  Although I eat many, many more than that!

In all honesty, I was not super happy with this recipe as it was quite challenging to get them from the bowl to the pan…they were really crumbly, and fell apart all over the place, which leads me to believe that I missed something in the process, even though I triple checked my work.  But they seem to be helping a bit…so I will reevaluate the recipe when it’s time to make another batch.

Have you made lactation cookies?  Do you have a go-to recipe for them?  What have you done to boost your milk supply that works well?

Leave a Reply

