Homemade chia drink


I’ve been wanting to try those Chia seed drinks for a while now.  There are so many nutritional benefits to chia seeds, and after learning a bit more about them I was totally on board for the drink, but no way was I going to spend nearly $4 per bottle when I have chia seeds at home.  Plus, my parents gave me some homemade grape juice from the grapes that grow at their place, so win-win…and FREE.

chia 2

So here’s how to make your own chia drink at home.

You’ll need:

  • 3 Tbs chia seeds
  • Fresh juice (from your juicer, or organic, fresh juice…your flavor preference)
  • 2 cups hot/boiling water
  • glass jar

First, add your chia seeds to the glass jar.  I’ve been saving all of our pasta sauce jars for juicing.  Stay tuned for the juicing posts…I can’t wait to share!

image (12)

Then add the hot/boiling water.  Stir well.  You will notice that in just a minute or two the chia seeds will begin to gel.

image (13)

For best results leave in fridge overnight.  I put the jar in the fridge in the afternoon and made the drink the next morning.

image (15)

Next, get a cup and mix the gelled chia seeds and your juice 50/50.

image (14)

This made enough for two drinks, so I am putting the other one back in the fridge for tomorrow!

image (16)

And there you have it!  You own homemade chia drink for just pennies!! Enjoy!

image (17)

Have you tried chia drinks before?  Love em? Hate em?

2 thoughts on “Homemade chia drink”

Leave a Reply

