Homemade fruit and nut bars


Homemade fruit & nut bars

I am a big fan of Lara Bars, but my wallet however is not.  So I decided to give making my own a try.  You don’t need much for a great simple bar…

homemade fruit & nut bars 2

I had the hardest time finding dates…but that is what I get for shopping for groceries at Target.  So I got Figs and Prunes (dried plums) to use instead.  I think the next time I make them I will do two batches, one with just figs, and one with just the prunes…or dates if I can find some.

Add all ingredients to a food processor, and blend until the end result looks a bit like cookie dough…

image (42)

Then place the mix in a clear wrap lined, or tin foil works too, pan.  Push into all corners and press into place.

image (43)

Pop it in the freezer for about an hour.  It will help it to set, and make the bars easier to cut.

image (44)

Pull the liner out, and cut your bars!  This recipe made 6 bars.  My bars are about 221 calories (Ooops!) a pop.  More than I’d like, but again I used both prunes and figs here.

image (45)

Stay tuned for more versions of this…because they are super yummy!  And what a great pre-run fuel too!

Leave a Reply

