Motivation Monday – Finding your motivation


I’m finding myself struggling these days.  I blame the ridiculous weather here in Minnesota.  This has been by far, one of the worst winters I can recall in my 32 years in this universe.  We’ve seen over 40 days with temps below zero, not taking into account the windchill.  I know that I am one of those people that is affected by the grey skies, and blustery days…it puts me in a funk.  And it makes it really hard to get out of the house with The Babe.  So getting to the gym has been a big struggle these last few weeks.  I keep thinking “…it will be so much easier to do this in the spring”, “…once the weather warms up we can go outside and I can run”, “…Moms In Training starts in a few weeks, I’ll wait til then.”

I guess I am unconsciously waiting for it to be spring to get back on track.  And I’d rather get on with it now!  But with another swirling Polar Vortex upon us tonight it seems as though we will be in the house again tomorrow.

So I am realizing that I need to dig deep here.  I need to look within myself and pull out that motivation I need to get active and shake this winter off.  I need to remember where I started 2 years ago.  I set myself up for success.  I invested in some home gym equipment, and a few DVDs and started at home because the idea of going to the gym was really intimidating.  I had an honest conversation with myself about where I was at and where I wanted to be.  I stopped being mean to myself and started getting real.

It is totally within my power to change how I look and how I feel about it.  I can sit here all “woe is me” or I can stand up and get after it.  I’d rather not still be having this same conversation with myself in a month, or two months.  So I will look to those that inspire me.  Those that support, push and motivate me to be better, do better and work harder.

 

 

Leave a Reply

