Chewsday Tuesday – White Chocolate Chip Lactation cookies


Not long after The Babe was born I made some Lactation Cookies to help buff up my milk supply for my hungry little bundle.  And they were ok…but just ok.  I never really looked forward to eating them and they lasted a long time because of that.  I mean an unusually long time.  I kept expecting them to go bad before I finished them.

And now that The Babe is 4 months old she is hitting another growth spurt and I am feeling the sad reality of a dipping supply again.  She is just insatiable!  Which is totally fine by me, especially since she was an SUA/IUGR baby.

I found a recipe that sounded good, and not very similar to the original, and with a few changes to it… they turned out amazing!

white chocolate chip lactation cookies

 

Warning…these are not clean.  Sad…but they are bombdiggity!

What you need:

  1. 1 cup butter
  2. 1 cup sugar
  3. 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  4. 4 tablespoons water
  5. 2 tablespoons ground flax seed
  6. 2 eggs
  7. 2 cups flour
  8. 1 teaspoon baking soda
  9. 1 teaspoon salt
  10. 3 cups slow rolled oats
  11. 1 1/2 cup white chocolate chocolate chips (I used a mix of white, and mini chocolate chips)
  12. 2 tablespoons brewer’s yeast*
  13. 1 teaspoon vanilla
  14. 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  15. 2 tablespoons almond flour

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Whisk the ground flax seed with water in a small bowl and let sit.
  3. Using a mixer, combine the butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, almond flour and eggs. Mix until well-blended.
  4.  Add in flaxseed and mix until well combined.
  5.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and brewer’s yeast.  Mix well and add to butter mixture.
  6.  Stir in oats and chocolate chips. Mix until well combined.
  7.  Use a spoon to scoop out cookies and place on a cookie sheet. Bake  for 10-12 minutes or until slightly browned on the top.

*A note on Brewer’s Yeast.  I personally can’t stand the taste of it.  So if you are the same just add slightly less than the 2 tablespoons.  The oats are great for boosting supply, and the extra calories in a day will also make a difference, but the brewer’s yeast is also a huge help for increasing your supply.  I could smell it slightly in these cookies, but could not really taste it at all, which is a huge win over the last batch!

 

I really love this recipe, and I will be making more of these for some expectant moms I know.  They are far superior to the first batch for one main reason: they are soft and chewy.  Just the way I like ’em.  The original batch that I made were falling apart when I tried to put them on the cookie sheet; they were very yeasty (yuk!) and too crunchy for me.

Do you have any tried and true recipes or foods for boosting a low, or dipping supply?

Leave a Reply

