Nomday Monday…Drunken food for you….


Lately I have been sharing recipes on Tuesdays, but it’s St. Patrick’s Day so I thought I’d share a few drunken recipes with you a day early!

Guinness Cupcakes

I made these for The Hubby’s Birthday on Saturday…and OMG…they are incredible.  I ate 4 of them yesterday…and I’m am 2 in for the day already…They may have an unintended side effect of boosting my supply and double as lactation cupcakes thanks to the yeast in the stout!

Makes 24 cupcakes

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

  • 1 Cup Stout Beer
  • 1 Cup Unsalted Butter
  • ¾ Cup Quality Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 2 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 Cups Granulated Sugar
  • 1½  Teaspoons Baking Soda
  • ¾ Teaspoon Salt
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • ⅔ Cup Sour Cream (I used plain greek yogurt)

Irish Cream Buttercream:

  • 4 to 5 Cups Confectioners Sugar (powdered sugar)
  • 2 Cups Unsalted butter, at room temperature, or slightly warmer.
  • 4 to 5 Tablespoons Irish Cream Liqueur, I actually used 2 of the tiny bottles and the taste was perfect, so probably closer to 8-10 tablespoons…I am Irish after all!
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line cupcake cups with paper liners.
  2. Prepare the cupcakes: Put the butter with the stout beer in a saucepan over medium heat and bring to a simmer. Whisk in cocoa powder until smooth. Cool slightly.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. In a mixer bowl, beat the eggs and the sour cream together. Add the beer/butter/cocoa mixture and beat to combine. Add the flour mixture and beat briefly just to combine. Using a rubber spatula, fold the batter until completely combined, making sure to incorporate little pockets of flour on the bottom so that the batter is of equal consistency everywhere.
  4. Fill the cupcake liners about 2/3 of the way if you want flatter cupcakes and 3/4 if you want domed. Bake for about 17 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a cupcake comes out clean. Cool completely to room temperature.
  5. Prepare the frosting: In a large mixer bowl, whip the butter for several minutes until very light and fluffy. Slowly add about half of the powdered sugar a few spoonfuls at a time until incorporated. Slowly drizzle the Irish Cream and whip until combined. Add the rest of the powdered sugar until your desired consistency has been achieved.
  6. Assemble: Fill a pastry bag and pipe buttercream on top of cooled cupcakes. Garnish with sprinkles or other adornments. Enjoy!

Irish Stew

I whipped this up yesterday for lunch/dinner and luckily have leftovers for lunch today!  It has a nice bitter aftertaste thanks to the Stout…and again may have unintended side effects…but there are no complaints here…I will take a boost in the milk production any day!

Ingredients

  • 3 lb. beef chuck roast, trimmed of excess fat and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. freshly-cracked black pepper
  • 3/4 cup flour, divided ( I was low after my cupcakes, so I used a combination of Flour, Almond Flour, and cornstarch)
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (11.2 oz.) bottle Guinness stout beer, divided
  • 3 large carrots, peeled and sliced into thick coins
  • 1.5 lbs. Yukon gold potatoes, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 2 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme

Directions

  1. Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.
  2. Place 1/2 cup flour in a shallow dish. Sprinkle beef with salt and pepper; dredge beef in flour, shaking off excess. Add half of beef to pan; cook 6 minutes, turning to brown on all sides. Remove beef from pan with a slotted spoon. Repeat procedure with remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons oil and beef. Remove beef from pan.
  3. Add onion to the pot, then saute until softened and translucent, about five minutes.
  4. Add garlic and saute for an additional minute. Add the 1 cup of Guinness, and stir for 1 minute, being sure to scratch the bottom of the pan to lift up any brown bits. Add carrots, potatoes, beef broth, tomato paste, bay leaf, thyme, and the cooked meat (along with any of its accumulated juices) to pan. Bring to boil, cover and reduce heat to medium-low to simmer.  At this point I transitioned my stew to a crockpot, because I am not the biggest fan of an open flame for a prolonged period of time…especially with an infant.  But if you want to keep the stew on the stove: Simmer over low for 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally and adding additional water as needed.
  5. Whisk remaining 1/4 cup flour (I used cornstarch here)  into the remaining Guinness until dissolved. Stir into stew until thickened. Remove bay leaf and season with additional salt and pepper if needed. Serve warm garnished with chopped parsley if desired.

Traditionally, the stew is served with mashed potatoes, and may or may not have potatoes in the stew.  I like to add rutabaga, and other hearty root veggies to bulk up the stew and make it stretch more.  But I didn’t on this one.

But I think I might make some mashed potatoes for my lunch of stew today!  I am really wishing I was not out of flour because I would make some Irish Soda bread to go with my stew, because I found me some of this!

Kerrygold!

Irish Butter!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

Leave a Reply

