Motivation Monday – I hate to work out


I do.

It’s true.  I hate being tired and out of breath.  I hate being all sweat covered and stinky.  Sometimes the process of getting to the gym, even before The Babe, is long and often arduous journey here in MinneSNOWta.  So yes, I hate to work out.

I’d be lying if I said that I enjoyed it…but I would also be lying if I said that I was content to be jiggly forever.  So it comes down to which I hate more…

Being jiggly and lazy or being tired and covered in sweat.

If I had to choose a way to spend the day…I guess I’d rather be tired and covered in sweat.  At least I’d know that I accomplished something…right?  It’s been so long since I’ve had that “I can do anything…” feeling of power and pride after a workout that I have forgotten what it feels like.  I have been feeling a little gymtimidated…so that may have something to do with it.  That and the ridiculous winter we’ve had.  Last week 70s, this week snow?

But that is the great thing about the outside…

20140413-214420.jpg

I have been doing a Motivation Monday for a while now, and I do it to help me set a good mood for the week.  When I worked, I worked at a job I hated, with people that were not nice.  This blog helped me stay positive, and now that I am a SAHM&W I use this blog as an outlet so much more.

I am looking forward to getting excited to work out again.  And now that MIT is underway, it will be a huge motivator for me to do the “homework” on our training schedules.  There are so many new Moms in our group, and first time runners, that there are lots of accountibilibuddies.  Also, part of my new role in the community, something I hope to be able to announce soon, is to encourage moms to get out and workout together in groups.  This time around I will be surrounded by women that are just doing this for the first time, and I will be able to share what worked for me, and what didn’t.

motivation state of mind

Getting motivated looks different for different people.  Some of us are motivated by the ever increasing size of our rears, some of us by the PR, others for the bling.  I can’t motivate you, but I can share what motivates me and perhaps it will inspire you.  Whatever your motivation is for getting out there on the roads, trails, or treadmills you found it and you’ve used it to do awesome things.

I think that it takes a special type of person to be a runner.  It’s not for everyone, and I think that is because it’s seen by spectators in races as a painful experience.  But it’s not.  It’s a bit surreal at times, it’s a battle of wills, and yes sometimes it’s painful.  But only in the body.  If you can get your mind to let go of what it’s putting the body through, it’s the most incredible experience.  Yes, I am talking about the “Runner’s High”.  If everyone ran, and everyone experienced the feeling of pride in themselves, and that sense of accomplishment at the end of a long run, that big race or even that jog around the block…well I think that the world would be a much happier place.

So what is my motivation for running?  The high?  The PR?  The Bling?

Nope.

I run because I can.

Leave a Reply

