Motivation Monday – Marathon Monday for Boston


I could never even dare to dream that I could one day, with monumental amounts of hard work qualify for Boston.  I know that it will never happen because I am a slow runner.  Unless that is, the lifted the time restrictions, and opened it to everyone.  Only, I don’t see that happening either.  No matter what happens, or how hard they try to make it to qualify, the race only becomes more popular, and more elite.  That is the thing about runners, if you tell them they can’t…they only try harder.

This is one race that I would love to watch, and cheer at.  But I am here in Minnesota, doing my virtual Boston Race and will, like many other runners in our fabulous community, be there in spirit.

The Boston Marathon bombing is one of those “I’ll never forget where I was” moments.  I was at work, at lulu.  Thinking about my friends that were there and mentally cheering for them to be amazing.  When one of my co-workers came in and told us what had happened.  I felt sick.  Thankfully no one I knew was injured.

So many of those runners, and spectators that were injured have spent the last year overcoming what happened, and are back in Boston this year.  Many of them running!  It’s amazing, and so awe inspiring to see.  The bombing sort of had the opposite effect, I think, from what the misguided bombers were trying to accomplish.  It only bonded the running community together more, and made us stronger.  It opened up a whole new world for some, and in spite of this tragedy made us more determined.

Today I am strapping on my running shoes and getting some miles in for Boston.  #westandwithboston #bostonstrong

I hope you join me!

 

Leave a Reply

