Sunday Funday Guest Blogger Series


I really love sharing other runner’s stories, I feel like this helps me stay motivated, and surrounding myself with runners only helps to fan the flames of desire in me to be a better runner.

Sunday Funday guest blogger

I chose this next post for today because of the reason she chose to start running.  Her Mum…

This week’s story comes from across the pond from one of my Women’s Running Community sisters!  Here’s is Angela B.’s story of her training journal for her first marathon!

Okay here’s the story – on 27th January 2013 I decided that I wanted to fulfil a dream of mine (and my mothers) to run the London Marathon.  A crazy notion I know but if I was going to do it 2014 would be the ideal year – I turn 40 and my mum would have been turning 65.

So I started running (well walking and moving slightly faster than walking speed!). In April 2013 I completed my first ever 10K in 1:14:17 – very happy with that if I do say so myself. Then disaster struck I partially tore my Achilles Tendon so was out of training for 2 months…….2 weeks back into training I was rear ended and suffered whiplash in my back, shoulder, neck and arm!!!!!! So once again no training….although I nagged and begged it took the physio a couple of weeks before I was allowed to run again BUT I only had 3 weeks before The Great North Run so I was allowed to do a little bit.

Anyway still recovering from my Achilles injury and with whiplash I completed The Great North Run in 2:59:12 – get me all fast and stuff (well sort of). So now for the main event The London Marathon 26.2 miles of blood, sweat and tears but if I manage to raise enough money then it will all be worth it.

Macmillan Cancer Support did so much to make the last few months of my mums life the best it could be and their work is invaluable. Hopefully you will never need to experience the care and compassion each and every person working for Macmillan has BUT if you have then you know how much they are worth. Please give generously 26.2 miles is a long way…….rather than a standard amount how about we make this fun……..the more random the amount the better (plus if any of you lovely people have any fundraising ideas then let me know). Through Virgin Money Giving, you can sponsor me and donations will be quickly processed and passed to charities.  

October 12th 2013 – so not a fantastic start to the plan as I’ve had birthdays and work to contend with BUT I have managed 11.9 miles so far this month. 0.9 miles running alongside Danger Dave as he went on his bike without stabilisers along with a 2 miler, a 4 miler and a 5 miler…….my fastest mile was 10.06 minute/mile so whoo hoo!!!

November 1st 2013 – the amazing Annette Pearson (and possibly a few others – names once I know them) is doing the Christmas sea dip to help me raise money. This is a fantastic support and all I can say is rather them than me – wet, cold and midwinter – I know where I’d rather be. This deserves a few quid as getting nearly naked when all around you are snuggled up in coats, hats, gloves and scarves takes some bottle.

Christmas Day 2013 I start my marathon training with a 4 miler….. Not easy after a full turkey dinner but I manage it (then have another turkey dinner as I’m starving). Next 4 miler is completed at the inlaws….new route, new challenges…….big bloody hills and 35 mph winds!!!!!!! I did it though. So back home an easy 4 miles followed the next day by an 8 milers (due to technical issues I had to to do it in 2 parts but it got done). Tomorrow is the start of a new year but the training will continue. A few bad weeks with illness, kids, work and Scott’s shifts so a few weeks behind my plan BUT my longest run to date is 14 miles which took me just under 3 hours!!!!!! (I know………). I’ve raised the £2000 target that I needed for Macmillan’s gold bond pledge and I’ve also surpassed the £2014 target I set myself as it’s 2014. MY NEW TARGET IS £2804.49 this was my mum’s date of birth and it seems fitting to have this as my new target.

Well London was last weekend and it was AMAZING – the sun was shining, the crowds were heaving and the spectators were awesome. At mile 5 I saw a sign saying “Your feet are hurt because of all the ass you’re kicking!!!” Totally got that sign especially at mile 20!!!! It wasn’t fast (6:36), it wasn’t pretty (sunburnt) BUT it was finished (and with a sprint too!!!)

Angela

I absolutely love that Angela ran in her Mum’s memory.  My Mom is actually the reason I started down this path.  Had my Mom never gotten cancer I may never have gotten involved with Team In Training…and you might now be reading this.  It’s pretty crazy what life has planned for us.  Thanks so much Angela for sharing your story!  And happy Mum’s Day to all of the Mother Runners out there!

Leave a Reply

