Chewsday Tuesday – Crockpot Banana Granola


I had been wanting to try my hand at homemade granola for a while, and since Naked Granola is no longer making their banana variety (at least not that I can find), that is what I set out to make!

banana granola

Ingredients:

Dry ingredients:

  • 5 cups of rolled oats
  • 1 cup grape nuts
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 3/4 cup flax seed

Wet ingredients:

  • 1 banana, blended
  • 4 Tbs maple syrup
  • 2 Tbs coconut oil
  • 2 Tbs honey
  • 1 Tbs vanilla

Spices:

  • 1 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 Tsp spice mix (nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon)

Directions:

Add all dry ingredients to a crockpot lightly sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Add wet ingredients to a blender, or food processor along with spices.  Blend until smooth.  You want no chunks of banana here…I mashed mine up with a fork before putting it in my magic bullet, so the blades just liquified it.  Add to dry ingredients in crockpot and mix well.  Cook on high for 2-3 hours stirring occasionally so it doesn’t burn and cooks evenly, depending on your crockpot this time may vary.  I just let mine go until it had reached my desired level of done-ness…

banana granola 2

 

I think it turned out amazing.  Not quite as banana-y as I was going for, but it sure was yummy!  I will be making more homemade granola in the future for sure!  Our house smelled like baking banana bread all day long.  It was awesome.

One thought on “Chewsday Tuesday – Crockpot Banana Granola”

Leave a Reply

