What I packed in my hospital bag


Nearly 8 months later I am finally putting this post together…the time just gets away from me it seems.

Hospital bag

I didn’t think I packed a lot…but in hindsight, I didn’t use a lot of it because I ended up with an emergent C-section.  I really struggled with clothes for #babylove, almost everything I had packed was far too large except for the one preemie outfit I had slated as her going home outfit.  I wish I had brought some of my pillows from home and a blanket.  That hospital bed was so not comfortable to be in for 5 days…

For me
  • All of normal travel toiletries
    • Make up bag
    • Dental care – toothbrush, mouthwash, floss and toothpaste
    • Shampoo/conditioner
    • deodorant
    • razor
    • contacts, solution and case
    • glasses
    • hair brush
    • bobby pins, binders, headband
    • hand lotion
  • Plus the post-delivery items I figured I’d need
    • Motorhome sized pads
    • Hemorrhoid cream
    • Nipple cream
    • Tylenol
    • chapstick
  • 3 pairs of lounge pants
  • 2 nightgowns
  • 3 nursing camis/2 nursing bras
  • slippers
  • 5 pairs of the largest underwear I could find
  • socks
  • Going home outfit
  • Comfy sweater
  • Robe
For #babylove
  • 5 outfits in 2 different sizes (1 preemie & 4 newborn)
  • Nursing pillow
  • Nursing pads
  • Diaper cream
  • 3 Hats
  • 5 pairs of socks
  • Going home outfit
  • warm blanket
  • Carseat
For The Hubs
  • Change of clothes – he didn’t get much here as we fully intended for him to run home.  This was just in case.
Electronics/Misc
  • Ipod/charger
  • Iphone/charger
  • Thank you gifts and cards for the nurses/midwives
  • Mini Fan (life saver!!)
  • Battery operated candles (these were for delivery, but never used  them)
  • Camera, extra memory card and batteries
  • Snacks – gummy bears, hard candy, gum
  • headphones
  • Sleep mask…hahahahahahaaaa….sleep.

If we ever do this again I will be packing much lighter, and leaving most of it at home until after the baby is born.  That way The Hubs can just bring what I need, and not everything.

Leave a Reply

