Sunday Funday Guest Blogger post: 14 signs you are a mother runner by The Running Parables


Sunday Funday guest blogger

Yes it’s time for another Sunday Funday Guest Blogger!

Today’s post is brought to you by Amanda!

Take it away Mama!

IMG_0909

My name is Amanda Casto and I blog over attherunningparables.com where I write about the things I’ve learned from my time on the road, racing.

I’m a mom to Elise (3), Jack (1 ½) and a wife to Scott. I have a degree in philosophy from the University of Texas at Arlington, I live in Ravenna, OH and I’ve been running for 18 years.

I love iced coffee, Stephen King and notebooks. I hate insects, highway driving and clutter.

mother runner

14 Signs You’re a Mother Runner

Everybody always told me kids change your life. They were right. I didn’t ever think kids wouldn’t change my life, I just didn’t realize they would change my running life in so many ways.

I adapted. I became a Mother Runner instead of just a runner. It was sort of like babies just appeared one day. Even though everything I used to do that took me 15 minutes, now takes 2 hours, it never really occurred to me the ways in which my running routine has changed since Elise and Jack filled up my world.

That was, until this morning when I had to drink an apple juice box that held about as much liquid as a bottle cap because I was too tired to dig the Gatorade out of the back of the fridge. That’s the first sign.

  1. You’re trying to dig Gatorade out because you know if you open the drawer full of plastic stuff, you’ll have to dig through an ocean of sippy-cups, bottles, high-chair tray thingies that rattle and binkies you never opened. There will be no water bottle there and you’ll just have to try to remember to clean the drawer out. Gatorade it is.
  2. You’re too tired to dig the Gatorade out because you had to wake up at 4:15am to get your run in. If you didn’t, it would be 9pm before you had a free second to go, and by that time, you fell asleep in the chair before you made it to the bedroom.
  3. You act as if you’re going to burglarize your own place when you get back from your 4am run. You leave the garage door up because it’s right under the baby’s room and it’ll wake him up for sure. You tippy-toe around, in the dark, and if something crashes you have the urge to bolt for the front door.
  4. You back over a giant toad leaving for work because you left said garage door open at 4am.
  5. You’re thinking about microchipping your shoes because the baby drags one around by the laces. Then he leaves it in the guest bathroom.
  6. It takes you longer to download the playlist for the marathon than it will take you to run the marathon because the toddler insists on “helping” you “work” on your computer.
  7. If the community college offered a masters in speed-shopping for compression tights, you could teach the class. The prerequisites: Needing a new Garmin, not having a baby sitter and the ability to choose a sporting goods store with no toy aisle.
  8. You buy a way oversized, overpriced pair of kids shorts while speed shopping because potty-training takes patience and comes with accidents…and lots of judgment when you have to explain to the salesperson that it’s for everyone olfactory benefit to let you in the bathroom with the shorts. You have a receipt.
  9. You are not beyond wearing glitter-crusted Doc McStuffins barrettes because the cat stole your last bobby pin.
  10. The number of bananas you take home after a race is in direct proportion to the number of kids you have. For some reason, fruit causes bloodshed.
  11. You treat your iPod like the Holy Grail. It’s the only source of music you have that doesn’t include a chorus of animal sounds in every song.
  12. When making it out the door in time to finish a whole, really long run and be back with enough time to shower before the kids are awake, makes you feel like you pulled off a Swiss bank heist.
  13. You find diapers in your race bag. And, then they’re not necessarily of the unused variety.

Are these not the truest of words from a fellow mother runner?

Yes, so true.

Thanks so much Amanda for sharing!!  Check out her blog!

3 thoughts on “Sunday Funday Guest Blogger post: 14 signs you are a mother runner by The Running Parables”

  1. I love the image you paint of sneaking into your house like a burglar to keep the kids from waking up. I am flirting with the idea of getting up extra early to run once my maternity leave ends (at that time, my kids will be 1 and 3), but I don’t know if I’ll be able to swing it. My baby seems to have a sixth sense about me leaving the bedroom. From the deepest of sleep she shall stir if mommy leaves her side!

Leave a Reply

