Making the hard choices


This weekend Hadley had surgery on her hand to correct the polydactyly and the removal of her pinkie finger.  It was a rough weekend for sure.  She is in a full arm cast, and actually doing really well with it.  It’s not slowing her down AT ALL.  I don’t know why that surprises me but I was a little blown away with what a rockstar she was about the whole surgery, and how she’s been adapting with the cast.

1506506_812377312169445_7999167548035787100_n

So, the hard decisions…I was supposed to run the Women Run The Cities 10 miler this morning.

I didn’t.  If you’ve been around for a while then you know I have had some back issues since having Hadley, and it has made for some really rough runs.  Then the last few runs have been sidelined due to ankle pain.  So I have also decided not to run my planned half on October 11th.  I am so bummed out, for one I have had to drop a lot of races this year that I paid for, and I was really hoping to be a 3 time halfer.  But the last few months I have just been dreading these races, and it made me realize that I honestly have zero desire to run 13.1 miles any time soon.  I want to focus on other things, and the looming dread of training runs, back pain, hip flexor issues and ankle pain have just zapped the love of this right outta me right now.

So…there’s that.

But wait there is good news!

You didn’t really think I was just gonna leave you with that downer of a post did you?  Naaaa…

Run This Dad and I have been drilling down into what we really want to achieve, and what our goals and vision is for our lives and our family.  We are both so excited for what the next year has in store for us, and have committed to hold each other accountable to live up to the goals that we set, and to make our dreams happen.

10329091_651534721612238_5151821448087354859_n

 

What was the last hard decision you made?  Did it help you in getting on track to meet your goals?

Leave a Reply

